Upgrading pyfilesystem package (zato 2.0.7 on RHEL 6.7)

Hello,

I am having a strange behavior on FTP usage. Sometimes I receive the files information with a wrong modification date (more than one year in the past). I am not sure if this is a bug on the pyfilesystem 0.4.0, the ftp protocol or even the vsftpd my third party is using, but it’s causing some problems on the service I developed.

I would like to update the pyfilesystem to the latest version (2.0.4) but I am having a lot of trouble from it, since I am a noob at this yet. I tried:

• Install the library using pip
    This was a lot of work (since my machine is isolated from the internet). Downloading the library (and dependencies) using pip was almost ok, since I received errors from the pip which were derived from “easy-install.pth file missing”, already reported in older topics, which leads to …

• Install using buildout
    This was the recommendation I found on some topics and it seems the way to go, but I don’t have access to the Internet on the zato servers. I never worked with buildout before and I have zero clues on how to get it working offline. After changing the version on the versions.cfg and running ./bin/buildout, it breaks after trying to obtain the Cypher and now zato is broken (I had a backup of the folder, thankfully, so I was able to restore it).

• Using zato_extra_paths
    I tried going in another direction, but I realized I don’t know too much about the proper way of organizing things to not break anything either in zato or the rest of the environment. I cannot install anything on the regular python from the machine, and I believe this was going to be the case to link the library to the zato_extra_paths. Is there any pythonic way of installing a library on this folder without using the regular python? A simple extraction of the .tar.gz version of the library to this path probably won’t solve the issue, since I imagine zato would continue to use it’s version…

• Switch to SFTP