Remote Jupyter notebook attached to zato kernel gives an Invalid Signature error

I’m hoping maybe somebody has got this working and/or can give some insight.

I understand that this is more of a Jupyter forum question but I think it would be helpful if this subject were addressed here too.

Ipython alone is ok but the notebook is so much better for me. I’ve tried a couple of times to get this to work but there is always a wrench in the system. This time it is the error in the jupyter stout that says:

[IPKernelApp] Invalid Message
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/opt/zato/2.0.5/eggs/ipython-0.13.2-py2.7.egg/IPython/zmq/ipkernel.py”, line 201, in dispatch_shell
msg = self.session.unserialize(msg, content=True, copy=False)
File “/opt/zato/2.0.5/eggs/ipython-0.13.2-py2.7.egg/IPython/zmq/session.py”, line 725, in unserialize
raise ValueError(“Invalid Signature: %r”%signature)
ValueError: Invalid Signature: ‘813318blah’

I am not an expert at the Jupyter notebook but I can manage to attach to my system-wide ipython kernel when I start jupyter as root user with remote connections enabled and all is semms well but I cannot import zato because it is not pointing then to the zato ipython kernel. My intent is to import zato using Jupyter Notebook and author services while attached remotely because I don’t have a local browser installed.

But when I install Jupyter using /opt/zato/2.0.5/bin/pip install jupyter and then I initialize a configuration directory in /opt/zato/.jupyter then I get the configuration looking like this:

c.NotebookApp.certfile = u’/opt/zato/.jupyter/mycert.pem’
c.NotebookApp.keyfile = u’/opt/zato/.jupyter/mykey.key’
c.NotebookApp.ip = '*'
c.NotebookApp.open_browser = False
c.NotebookApp.password = u’sha1:mykeyblah’
c.NotebookApp.port = 8888